The Offer

I got a “Thanks, but no thanks” email from Company B for Position 1.  It was disappointing, but I had my hopes up for Position 2.

During the whole time I was laid off, my friend and personal trainer, Nina Lomax, has been working out with me for free.  Oh!  I need to add Nina to “The Ripple Effect” if she’s not already there!  Regardless, I know I wasn’t very good company while I waited to hear about Position 2 from Company B.  I tried to joke about it, but I left my phone on during workouts and joked whenever I checked and it wasn’t Company B with either a thumbs up or a thumbs down.

Well, since I got a rejection email from Company B for Position 1, I kind of thought an offer might come via the phone…

Finally, finally, finally, the HR representative from Company B for Position 1 called!  Well, she called around 9AM, and I’d been used to sleeping until somewhere between then and 10AM… 😉

“Is this a good time?” she asked.

“Oh, yes!  Of course!!!!” I said.

I got an offer!

I got an offer to work for a manager I really enjoyed talking with and a co-worker with whom I have a lot in common!

I got an offer to work on customer improvements for Company B – an opportunity to contribute to the bottom line; an offer to work on systems that will use and challenge and stretch my talents.

I got an offer for a lot more $$ that I didn’t ask for.

I am floored.

I accepted.

I start tomorrow.

I can’t wait!

 

 

Author: Patricia M. Malarkey

I am a lifelong coder. I love solving problems with code!

Leave a Reply

